NEWARK, NJ – The 2021 New Jersey primary is scheduled for Tuesday, November 8th. (see list of candidates below).

In our area, this includes voting at a polling station, using a secure mailbox, returning your voting slip, or handing it over to your local electoral board.

“We want to be sure that voters know the resources available to them and the key deadlines ahead of the upcoming elections,” said New Jersey Secretary of State Tahesha Way. “By providing information on how to vote in person, where to find secure ballot boxes, or how to request a postal vote, we’re making it as easy as possible for voters to exercise their right to participate in the important process.”

The rundown

What and who is on the ballot?

Essex County Sheriff-Race County

Voters in the Essex County primary, including Newark, will select candidates for Essex County Sheriff. Voters decide who will represent their political party in the 2021 general election on November 2nd.

Candidates for Essex County Sheriff include:

  • Armando Fontoura (Incumbent, Democratic Party)
  • John arnold jr. (Democratic Party)
  • Barry Jackson (Democratic Party)
  • Nicholas Pansini (Republican Party)
  • Maureen Edelson (Republican Party)

NJ assembly races

The City of Newark is divided between the legislative districts of the 28th and 29th states. The candidates for the primary elections in the 28th district include:

  • Ralph Caputo (Incumbent, Democratic Party)
  • Cleopatra Tucker (Incumbent, Democratic Party)
  • Anthony D’Angelo (Republican Party)
  • Monique Headen (Republican Party)

The preselection candidates in the 29th district include:

SENATE (one seat)

  • Teresa Ruiz (Incumbent, Democratic Party)
  • No candidates submitted for the Republican Party

ASSEMBLY (two seats)

  • Eliana Pintor Marin (incumbent, Democratic Party)
  • Shanique Speight (Incumbent, Democratic Party)
  • No candidates submitted for the Republican Party

Gubernatorial race

Current Governor Phil Murphy is running unopposed for the Democratic Party nomination.

Here’s who’s on the Republican ballot:

  • Jack Ciattarelli, a former 16th Legislative Member from 2011-2018 and a Hillsborough resident. He previously ran for governor in 2017 and finished second in the primaries behind then-Republican candidate Kim Guadagno. Ciattarelli’s platform is focused on easing pandemic restrictions and revitalizing New Jersey’s economy after the health crisis. He has already received support from US MP Jeff Van Drew as well as several district chairmen (including those in Bergen, Atlantic, Somerset, Essex, Salem and more) and has his focus on the attack on Murphy. Continue reading: NJ Gov candidate calls for collection limit, face mask lift until May
  • Brian D. Levine, a former Somerset freelance owner and Mayor of Franklin Township. He held the office of mayor for 10 years until he ran as a freeholder in 2014. He lost his application for a third term in 2020. He describes himself as fiscally conservative but not ideological, according to NJ 101.5, and claims that his professional background as a CPA would benefit the New Jersey Economic Compass.
  • Hirsh V. Singh, a multi-year candidate who has announced that he will run for governor in 2017, in the US House of Representatives in 2018, and in the US Senate in 2020. Singh was born in Atlantic City, lives in Linwood and graduated from the NJIT. He tries to portray himself as more of a pro-Trump Republican and Ciattarelli as too moderate.
  • Philip Rizzo, a Harding Township resident, real estate developer, and pastor of the conservative City Baptist Church in North Bergen. He is an avowed supporter of former President Trump, takes a pro-life stance and has never run for political office.

Ciattarelli and Murphy are the only candidates to qualify for public funding, which limits candidates’ spending to $ 7.3 million during the primaries.

Where can i vote?

Registered voters can vote in person at their local polling station on June 8th from 6am to 8pm.

Voters should know:

  • Find your current voting location with the Vote.NJ.Gov polling location tool and decide whether you want to vote in person or request a postal vote.
  • Request a postal vote if you have to or prefer to vote from home in the upcoming election. If a voter does not apply, they will not automatically receive a voting slip to participate. Any registered voter in New Jersey can request a postal vote using one of the following methods:
    • Go to the Vote by Mail page on Vote.NJ.Gov to download and print an absentee voting request. Then send the completed application by post to the responsible district official. In order to post a voting slip for the primaries on June 8th, the application must be received by June 1st.
    • Apply in person by June 7th at 3:00 p.m. to the local district secretary of a voter for the June 8th primaries. You can find the contact details at Vote.NJ.Gov.

Sending a ballot back by post is as easy as VOTE, SIGN, SEAL, RETURN. The return options include:

  • Post: It must be postmarked on or before 8:00 p.m. on June 8th and received by June 14th.
  • Secure Ballot Box: Put them in one of the secure ballot boxes in your county by 8 p.m. on June 8th for the primaries. For Dropbox locations, see Vote.NJ.Gov.
  • Office of the Election Committee: Submit in person to the District Election Committee by 8:00 a.m. on June 8th for the primaries.
  • NOTE: Postal ballot papers can NOT be returned to polling stations for this election.

For more information on the June 8 primaries, visit Vote.NJ.Gov.

This article includes reports from Russ Crespolini, Patch Associate

Send local news tips and correction requests to [email protected] Sign up for patch email newsletters. Learn more about how to post announcements or events on your local patch site.